Author Archives: admin

Iceland during Summer

The main tourist season in Iceland is the summer with its long days and midnight sun. You will be fascinated and enchanted by volcanoes, craters, lava fields, sandy deserts, glaciers, rivers, waterfalls, bird cliffs and fjords! The empty, open space, peace and extraordinary beauty of nature you will encounter are breathtaking. You will be tempted to try various outdoor activities, from cozy short walks to rapid rafting on rushing rivers.

 
Iceland during Winter

The wintry Iceland is ideal not least for the adventurous. Super jeep safaris, snowmobile tours and glacier walks are particularly attractive in this season. Peace seekers will also find something appealing in Iceland in the winter, the silence of the glittering snow-covered landscape is an ideal place to take tours along frozen waterfalls and steaming hot springs. The short winter days are made up for by the northern lights that quite frequently show themselves under ideal conditions especially in the countryside. Moreover, Iceland is very cozy during the Advent and the days before the new year in Reykjavík when the city glitters in beautiful Christmas lights.

Holiday Travel

Katla DMI is your local Incoming-Specialist, that organizes group- and individual tours in Iceland. Our most popular tours are 8-15 days long. We recommend a minimum of week duration to see the main attractions and longer tours if you want to enjoy all that Iceland has to offer more intensively. Some people want to avoid changing their accommodation every day, for those we offer tours with various daytours starting in Reykjavík. These are examples of our best sellers:

Group travel

Individual tours

Are you looking for ideas for your private holiday?

 
Conferences & meetings

Coherence is the key to a successful planning of a conference.  We make sure that the conference host has the space and time to attend to his professional side of the conference by dedicating our time to all the detailsinvolved in the project’s management; i.e.

  • booking the venue and other conference components
  • communication with and booking the travel side program for the participants
  • managing financial aspects of the conference

Our expertise lies in maintaining the helicopter view while never losing sight of the smallest details. That is how we ensure the success of your conference.

Incentives

You define, we direct. – Iceland offers unimaginable options  for all seasons, and it is our expertise to convert your wishes and expectations into unforgettable experience.

  • Best hotels
  • Transport
  • Dining
  • Spa / Relaxation
  • Adventure
  • Pure nature
  • Reykjavík – living capital of the North
  • Tailor made offers
  • Team building
We consider ourselves to have achieved success, when our guests have returned from their trip not merely happy, but thrilled!
 
Events

Whether a kick-off, anniversary, gala, wedding or a fashion show – your event is safe and secured with us. We combine professionalism with creativity for our planning  to ensure successful execution of your event. Our goal is to exceed our client expectations.

We have organised the marriage of many couples in Iceland, e.g. in front of one of Iceland´s waterfalls, or in the national park Þingvellir.  Iceland offers various kind of locations for all sort of events with excellent facilities.

Share with us your ideas, we can make them real! 

Who we are

Katla DMI is dedicated to the organization of holiday travel, meetings & conferences, incentives and events of all kinds in Iceland, the island of fire and ice.

We have over 17 years of experience in the organization and sales of group tours to Iceland, mainly on the German market and we like to expand to other markets as well. Our work and life experience abroad, our language skills and understanding of the European market allows us to serve our customers well and create a memorable experience for the tourists in Iceland.

Our team has not only excellent knowledge of the market but also of Iceland itself. We combine the passion for our destination, Iceland, with tourism expertise and excellent customer service – and therefore believe that we can exceed the expectations of an incoming agency.

Our customers are both large and small operators, companies and businesses as well as clubs, organizations and interest groups.

8 reasons why you should work with Katla DMI 

Do you need further information or want to send us an inquiry: 

 

Our Team

Bjarnheiður Hallsdóttir Managing Director (and owner)

Pétur Óskarsson Managing Director (and owner)

Anna Vilborg Ívarsdóttir Business Development Manager

Atli Antonsson Junior Product Manager

Brynjar Óskarsson IT-Manager

Dorothee Hippel Text editor & Junior Product Manager

Eyrún Olsen Product Manager FITs

Ólöf Bóasdóttir Accountant

Ramona Pittroff Product Manager Groups

History

The beginning

It began in 1997 in Munich, as Pétur Óskarsson and Bjarnheiður Hallsdóttir, while studying Tourism Management in Munich, founded the tour operator company “Katla Travel GmbH”. Under the slogan “Island Individuell / Iceland Individually” they organized and sold tailor made group and individual packages. In cooperation with Neckermann Reisen, Katla Travel offered a number of charter flights that made travelling to Iceland more affordable than ever before and allowing a more flexible product design.

Viator – Holiday Home Rental

In 2002, the holiday home rental and Katla’s sister company “Viator” was founded in Reykjavík. So far, cottages had only to a limited extent been available for tourist rental in Iceland, but the demand had increased noticeable. With Viator the door opened up for Icelandic house and cottage owners to the tourist rental market. The idea to rent holiday homes that were unused large part of the year to foreign guests fell on fertile ground.

Katla DMI – Iceland Incoming

In 2003, the operation of Katla Travel for incoming travelers spun off and Katla DMI in Reykjavík was founded. Today, both companies operate completely independently as separate companies. Katla Travel’s main focus are individual guests whereas Katla DMI serves as an incoming agency for tour operators of German-speaking guests – both for self-traveling guests and for groups of all kinds.

The number of employees of the Katla Group has grown in these 17 years, from 2 to 20. The staff is primarily from the field of tourism and / or have a strong connection to Iceland and Germany.

Holiday Homes investments

In recent years, the Katla Group has invested in its own holiday homes to strengthen its offer. The group attaches great importance to the quality of the houses themselves and all equipment, with emphasis on promoting Icelandic design. Today there are 5 holiday homes owned by the group, one in each part of Iceland.

The future

Katla DMI is always looking for innovations and new challenges in order to strengthen its market position. Thus, recently the attention has been focused more on the product ranges meetings, conferences, incentives and events.

Our Philosophy

Creativity – Team spirit – Success

These three values make up our model. We are convinced that creative collaboration is the key to success – The success of satisfying our customers.

Creativity

Be ready to leave old paths to make way for new opportunities.

  • We constantly look for new ways to develop and improve ourselves, our products and our services in order to serve our customers better
  • We look to a high level of communication as we believe that exchange of ideas, experiences and opinions generates better results
  • We aim high for our clients and by keeping an open dialog with all parties involved we can better insure effective and mutually acceptable solutions and goals

We believe this makes work more fun – only those who enjoy their work will bring out the best in themselves.

Team Spirit

Together we can move mountains.

  • Our employees are a source of expertise and are open to meet the needs of our customers
  • Our employees work with a high degree of personal responsibility and freedom in order to fulfill their task in accordance with the expectations of our customers
  • We are aware that we are the link between service providers in Iceland and agents in Germany, and this role must be met with loyalty, honesty and diligence
  • As an active member of the Icelandic tourism industry, Katla DMI consciously tries to influence its development in a positive manner

This level of teamwork requires mutual respect maintained among all staff and with all partners.

Success

Is measured at the highest standard. – For us, success entails …

  • Thrilled guests
  • Long-term cooperation with our partners
  • Happy employees (and coworking guides)
  • Stability and long-term profitability of our company
  • Sustainable use of Icelandic nature

To know whether we have achieved this, we measure our success on a constant basis. In addition to regular performance measurement we conduct surveys among our customers and make sure that the results are used to improve our performance.

Author Archives: admin

Island im Sommer

Die Hauptreisezeit in Island ist der Sommer mit seinen langen Tagen und hellen, kurzen Nächten. Lassen Sie sich von Vulkanen, Kratern, Lavafeldern, Sandwüsten, Gletschern, Flüssen, Wasserfällen, Vogelklippen und Fjorden faszinieren und verzaubern! Die Weite, Ruhe und außergewöhnliche Schönheit der Natur, die Ihnen hier begegnen, sind atemberaubend. Daneben locken diverse Outdooraktivitäten, von gemütlichen Kurzwanderungen, über Reittouren bis hin zu rasanten Raftingtouren auf reißenden Flußläufen.

Island im Winter

Das winterliche Island ist besonders für Abenteuerlustige ideal. Super-Jeep-Safaris, Schneemobiltouren und Gletscherwanderungen sind in dieser Jahreszeit ganz besonders reizvoll. Aber auch Ruhesuchende kommen hier auf ihre Kosten, denn die Stille der glitzernden, schneebedeckten Landschaft lädt zu beschaulichen Touren entlang gefrorener Wasserfälle und dampfender heißer Quellen ein. Für die kurzen Wintertage entschädigen die Nordlichter, die sich bei guten Bedingungen besonders auf dem Land häufig blicken lassen. Darüberhinaus ist es in Reykjavík in der Advents- und Silvesterzeit besonders gemütlich, denn dann erstrahlt die Stadt in wunderschönen Weihnachtslichtern.

Urlaubsreisen

Katla DMI ist ihr Incoming-Spezialist vor Ort. Wir organisieren Islandreisen sowohl für Gruppen als auch für Individualreisende. Unsere populärsten Touren sind zwischen 8 und 15 Tage lang. Um die Hauptattraktionen Islands zu besuchen, reicht eine Woche, möchte man Island jedoch intensiver kennen lernen, empfehlen wir längere Touren oder die Beschränkung der Reise auf  eine Region Islands. Hier finden Sie Beispiele von unseren Bestsellern:

Gruppenreisen

Individualreisen 

Suchen Sie Ideen für Ihren persönlichen Islandurlaub? 

Konferenzen & Meetings

Bei der Planung einer Konferenz muss alles ineinander greifen. Damit den Organisatoren Raum bleibt, sich den Inhalten zu widmen, übernehmen wir in Absprache mit ihnen alles, was über die Inhalte Ihrer Konferenz hinaus geht. Bis in das kleinste Detailsoll alles durchdacht und in sich stimmig sein. Unter anderem kümmern wir uns um:

  • die Buchung eines Tagungsortes und anderer Komponenten der Konferenz
  • die Organisation & Buchung eines Rahmenprogramms für die Teilnehmer
  • das Management der finanzellen Aspekte der Konferenz

Unsere Kompetenz liegt darin, stets den Überblick zu behalten, ohne die Details aus den Augen zu verlieren. So können wir Sie darin unterstützen, dass Ihre Konferenz ein Erfolg wird. 

Incentives

Sie definieren, wir inszenieren – Island bietet zu jeder Jahreszeit ungeahnte Möglichkeiten, und wir verstehen uns darauf, Ihre Wünsche in unvergessliche Erlebnisse umzuwandeln!

  • Beste Hotels
  • Transport
  • Dining
  • Wellness/Entspannung
  • Abenteuer
  • Natur pur
  • Rvk – Lebendige Hauptstadt des Nordens
  • Maßgeschneiderte Angebote
  • Teambuilding
Nur wenn die Teilnehmer nicht nur zufrieden, sondern begeistert aus Island zurückkehren, waren wir erfolgreich!
Events

Ob Kick-Off, Jubiläum, Gala, Hochzeit oder Modenschau – Ihr Event ist bei uns in guten Händen. Bei der Planung kombinieren wir Professionalität mit Kreativität, und unser Ziel ist Ihre Zufriedenheit!

Wir haben bereits vielen Paaren bei der  Planung und Durchführung ihrer Trauung in Island geholfen. Heiratenden bieten sich viele Möglichkeiten, entweder in einer idyllischen, kleinen Kirche oder in der spektakulären Landschaft Islands, z.B. vor einem der vielen Wasserfälle oder im Nationalpark Þingvellir.

Aber auch für die verschiedensten anderen Events bietet Island traumhafte Locations, Outdoor genauso wie Indoor.

Teilen Sie uns Ihre Ideen und Wünsch mit, wir können sie wahr werden lassen!  

Wer wir sind

Katla DMI ist spezialisiert auf die Organisation von Urlaubsreisen, Meetings, Konferenzen, Incentives und Events aller Art in Island, der Insel aus Feuer und Eis.

Wir haben langjährige Erfahrung in der Organisation und dem Verkauf von Islandreisen für deutschsprachige Touristen, und sind einer der ältesten Islandanbieter auf dem deutschsprachigen Reisemarkt. Durch unsere Lebens-/Arbeitserfahrung in Deutschland kennen wir den Markt und verstehen die Erwartungen, die unsere Touristen an Ihren Urlaub haben. Unser deutsch-isländisches Team hat nicht nur ausgezeichnete Islandkenntnisse, sondern kombiniert Begeisterung für unsere Destination Island mit touristischer Fachkompetenz sowie großer Servicebereitschaft – und deshalb glauben wir, Ihre Erwartungen an eine Incomingagentur übertreffen zu können. Unsere Kunden sind große und kleine Reiseveranstalter, Firmen und Unternehmen sowie Vereine, Organisationen und Interessenverbände.

8 Gründe, mit Katla DMI zu arbeiten

Wollen Sie weitere Informationen oder eine Anfrage schicken?

Das Team

Bjarnheiður Hallsdóttir Geschäftsführerin (und Eigentümerin)

Pétur Óskarsson Geschäftsführer (und Eigentümer)

Anna Vilborg Ívarsdóttir Business Development Manager

Atli Antonsson Junior Product Manager

Brynjar Óskarsson IT-Manager

Dorothee Hippel Textredaktion & Junior Product Manager

Eyrún Olsen Product Manager FITs

Ólöf Bóasdóttir Buchhalterin

Ramona Pittroff Product Manager Gruppen

 

Geschichte

Der Beginn

Es begann 1997 in München, als Pétur Óskarsson und Bjarnheiður Hallsdóttir, die in München Tourismus Management studiert hatten, das Verkaufs- und Veranstalterbüro Katla Travel GmbH in München gründeten. Unter dem Slogan „Island Individuell“ organisierten und verkauften sie Gruppen- und Individualreisen nach Maß. In Zusammenarbeit mit Neckermann Reisen bot Katla Travel eine Reihe von Charterflügen an und konnte dadurch preiswertere Islandreisen als je zuvor sowie eine deutlich flexiblere Produktgestaltung ermöglichen.

Viator Ferienhausvermittlung

In 2002 wurde die Ferienhausvermittlung, und das Schwesterunternehmen von Katla, Viator in Reykjavík gegründet. Bisher hatte es in Island so gut wie keine Ferienhäuser zum Mieten gegeben, doch die Nachfrage stieg wahrnehmbar an. Mit Viator wurde das Tor für isländische Ferienhauseigentümer geöffnet. Die Idee, die eigenen Häuser, die die meiste Zeit des Jahres leer standen, an ausländische Gäste zu vermieten, fiel auf fruchtbaren Boden.

Katla DMI – Island Incoming

In 2003 wurde das Incoming Geschäft von Katla Travel ausgegliedert und Katla DMI in Reykjavík gegründet. Heute operieren beide Firmen komplett selbständig als zwei eigenständige Unternehmen. Katla Travel konzentriert sich auf Individualgäste und Katla DMI dient als Incoming Agentur für Reiseveranstalter aus dem deutschsprachigen Raum –  sowohl für selbstreisende Gäste als auch für Gruppen aller Art. Die Mitarbeiterzahl der Gruppe ist in 17 Jahren von 2 auf 20 gewachsen. Die Mitarbeiter kommen überwiegend aus dem Bereich Tourismus und/oder haben einen starken Bezug zu Island und Deutschland.

Eigene Ferienhäuser

In den letzten Jahren hat die Katla-Gruppe in eigene Ferienhäuser investiert, um das Angebot zu stärken. Dabei legt sie großen Wert auf die Qualität der Häuser selbst sowie auf deren Ausstattung.  Heute befinden sich 5 Ferienhäuser im Besitz der Gruppe, eines in jedem Landesteil von Island.

Die Zukunft

Katla DMI ist stets auf der Suche nach Innovationen und neuen Herausforderungen, um seine Marktposition zu stärken. So will sich Katla nun verstärkt auf die Bereiche Meetings, Konferenzen, Incentives und Events konzentrieren.

Das Leitbild

Kreativität – Teamgeist– Erfolg

Auf diesen drei Werten basiert unser Leitbild, denn wir sind davon überzeugt, dass kreative Zusammenarbeit der Schlüssel zum Erfolg ist.

Was verstehen wir aber unter jedem der drei Werte?

Kreativität

Bereit sein, alte Pfade zu verlassen um neue Wege zu betreten.

  • Wir sind unentwegt auf der Suche nach neuen Aktivitäten und Reisebestandteilen, um beständig neue interessante Produkte anbieten zu können
  • Wir stehen untereinander im ständigen Austausch, denn so entstehen oft die besten Ideen
  • Wir versuchen neue Wege zu finden, die uns schneller und effektiver ans Ziel bringen
  • Wir wissen, dass auch wir nicht fehlerfrei sind – aber wir arbeiten konstant daran, es zu werden, indem wir auf Feedback unserer Kunden gründlich eingehen und mögliche Fehlerquellen ermitteln, um sie auszuschalten

Auf diese Weise haben wir alle zugleich mehr Spass an der Arbeit – und nur wer Spass an dem hat, was er macht, holt auch das Beste aus sich heraus.

Teamgeist

Zusammen können wir Berge versetzten.

  • Unsere Mitarbeiter sind eine Quelle von Fachwissen und haben ein offenes Ohr für die Wünsche unserer Kunden
  • Unsere Mitarbeiter arbeiten mit einem Höchstmaß an Eigenverantwortung und Freiraum, um Ihre Aufgabe gemäss den Erwartungen unserer Kunden erfüllen zu können
  • Uns ist bewußt, dass wir das Verbindungsglied zwischen Leistungsträgern in Island und Agenten in Deutschland sind, und dass diese Rolle durch Loyalität, Ehrlichkeit und Fleiss erfüllt werden muss
  • Katla DMI engagiert sich als aktives Mitglied im isländischen Tourismus für einen verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit der Umwelt

Erfolg

Gemessen wird am höchsten Standard. – Für uns bedeutet Erfolg hauptsächlich…

  • Begeisterte Gäste
  • Langfristige Kooperation mit unseren Partnern
  • Glückliche Mitarbeiter (und mitarbeitende Reiseleiter)
  • Stabilität und langfristige Profitabilität unserer Firma
  • Nachhaltiger Umgang mit der isländischen Natur

Und um zu wissen, ob uns dies gelungen ist, prüfen wir unseren Erfolg ständig. Wir führen Befragungen durch, und stellen anschließend sicher, dass die Ergebnisse zur Leistungsverbesserung  genutzt werden.